Author Topic: Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor  (Read 5353 times)

hebro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor
« on: October 27, 2016, 04:22:09 PM »
Greetings,

I have been running Tongass Fjords on my computer with FSX. Just love it!!  I have installed FSX-Steam onto the same computor and was hoping to install Tongass into SE. I tried doing an install  but realised it had reinstalled into FSX.  Is it possible to have it installed in both and if so how would I do that.  I am not wanting to uninstall from FSX as its working. I am on Windows 8.1

Thanks in advance 

Holger Sandmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2016, 05:35:58 AM »
Hi there,

I've never tried duplicate installations myself but would assume that you'd simply need to point the installer to the folder that contains the FSX.exe file of the Steam version. Is that what you've done?

Cheers, Holger

hebro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2016, 03:37:00 PM »
Hi Holger,

I did that and everything seemed normal but somehow it reinstalled to the FSX setup and not the FSX-se.  I have orbx and many addons which all work well. The reason I am using SE is that I want to just use some addons and dedicate set to more weather flying. I have put Aerosoft antartica on SE so was hoping to also put Tongass Fjords.

Is it possible to manualy install it to a temp folder then somehow bring it across. I also remember vaguely that to do this I might need to do something in the registry to point installer to fsx-se.

Any thoughts would be appreciated
Henry


Holger Sandmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2016, 08:22:14 PM »
Hi Henry,

I just tested this and it appears that running the TFX installer into a temp folder when Tongass Fjords is already installed in FSX doesn't create a complete folder tree; the FSAddon folder is created with the Tongass_Fjords subfolders but the other required folders -- Effects, Scenery/World/, SimObjects, and Sound -- are not. Presumably, the installer spots the existing FSX registry entry and places those folder contents in the actual FSX location. It also means that the custom terrain.cfg entries aren't added and, probably, the TFX configurator won't access the temp folder's files either.

Two "hacks" I can think of:

1. use a FSX registry tool (Google for it) to temporarily direct the FSX-SE registry path to the temp folder. For that to work you need to also place a copy of the FSX-SE "fsx.exe" file as well as the FSX-SE "terrain.cfg" file into the temp folder. Then run the installer into the temp folder.

2. use the file list provided in the first post in this thread -- http://fssupport.com/fsaddonforum/index.php?topic=34.0 -- to manually copy all TFX files and folders to your FSX-SE installation. Then manually add the two TFX entries to the scenery library menu and the block of TFX entries (also attached to that thread) into your FSX-SE terrain.cfg file.

Cheers, Holger

hebro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2016, 10:27:57 PM »
Hi Holger,

Thanks for the prompt reply- I will work on it and get back to you   -

hebro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Running Tongass Fjords on FSX and FSX-SE on same computor
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2016, 07:39:08 PM »
Hi Holger,

Yay- All sorted. Many thanks for the support. Much appreciated

Henry